Boost Juice

Mike and I were talking about juicing the other day…the culture, the health factors, the possible insanity. My mouth may be incapable of forming the words “Juice Cleanse” or “Fasting”, but I do understand that a juice here and there can give you quite a nice little boost.

Blessed with our shiny new glorious Vitamix, I set out juicing. I knew I wanted to make a mainly green mix; something that could be added to other smoothies to give it a veggie punch, or it could be sipped on it’s own. I do love me some fiber, but for this particular recipe, I strained it out so only the liquid juice remained. Fiber is wonderful for you, but if it’s extracted, then the nutrients from all those delicious fruits and vegetables are more easily passed into your system, not out the other end. Ahem.

 

BOOST JUICE // Hourglass And Bloom #greenjuice #vitamix

 

BOOST JUICE // Hourglass And Bloom #greenjuice #vitamix

 

Working in batches, blend the following:

5 Pears

4 handfuls Kale

2 handfuls Cilantro

3 medium Cucumbers

2 Green Bell Peppers

Two tips: give your veggies a nice rough chop to help out the blender (I also cored the pears and bell peppers), and with each batch add about half cup of water.

 

BOOST JUICE // Hourglass And Bloom #greenjuice #vitamix

 

BOOST JUICE // Hourglass And Bloom #greenjuice #vitamix

 

Nearby, have a large mixing bowl beneath a colander lined with a double layer of cheese cloth. When you’re done blending each batch, pour that goopy green sludge onto the cheese cloth. The juice will begin to drain on it’s own, but you’ll definitely have to help it along. Gather up the ends of the cloth, twist the top, and squeeeeeeeeeze. This is your upper body workout for the day. Squeeze, keep on.

 

BOOST JUICE // Hourglass And Bloom #greenjuice #vitamix

 

Just don’t go thinking you’re the incredible hulk and spurt out green goop all over your counter. Oops.

 

BOOST JUICE // Hourglass And Bloom #greenjuice #vitamix

 

In the end you should have about 48oz of juice. I pack mine up in mason jars to tote with me on the go, or for easy use to splash into another smoothie. They’ll keep in your fridge for up to a week. Now, you just spent about $10 give or take on the veggies that went into it, and got four drinks. If you’re like me, every time I’ve been to Whole Foods or Mother’s for a custom juice, I’ll spend about six bucks each drink. Think of all the money your saving by doing it at home – and they’re right there in your fridge for when you want it!

Just don’t go three-day juice cleansing on me…….more deliciousness coming very soon. Cheers!

 

BOOST JUICE // Hourglass And Bloom #greenjuice #vitamix

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 comments


Leave a Reply

