Chick Food

Chick food can mean a lot of things…..in this particular case it means I’m talking about chickpeas and I think I’m quite clever and really good at making semi-witty blog titles. At the same time, chickpeas are healthy, delicious, snacky, and totally fall in the “chick food” category.

The other day, I was sauntering down the snack-food aisle of my local Target, thinking very seriously about ripping a package of moon-pies off the shelf and devouring the whole thing cellophane and all, when I realized that mayyyyybe I shouldn’t. Maybe.

“But I want sweeeeeeeeeeeeets. And salty. And deliciousness.” My stomach growled.

“Oh shut it! I’ll figure something out!” I said to my grouchy stomach. Several fellow Target-shoppers were giving me a wide birth at this point, snatching their children out of my way.

But figure it out I did! That night, Pinterest beheld a beautiful little recipe of shimmering sugary balls of splendor! Sweet and salty roasted chickpeas! My sweet tooth was cured and I didn’t have to wallow in self-loathing next time I strapped on a bikini! Pinterest to save the day, as usual. God bless her.

 

SWEET AND SALTY ROASTED CHICKPEAS // hourglass&bloom

SWEET AND SALTY ROASTED CHICKPEAS // hourglass&bloom

 

Get down to your market and grab the following (steer clear of the moon pies):

Brown Sugar (4 tbsp.)

Olive oil (3 tbsp.)

Garbanzo Beans (2 cans)

Sea Salt (1 tbsp.)

Ground Cinnamon (2 tbsp.)

Pre-heat your oven to 450 degrees. Thoroughly rinse the beans and shake them dry. Spread them out evenly on a parchment-paper-lined baking sheet. When the oven has heated up, pop them in and set your timer for 45 minutes.

While they’re baking, whisk together the rest of your ingredients in a big bowl.

 

SWEET AND SALTY ROASTED CHICKPEAS // hourglass&bloom

 

After 45 minutes, carefully pull your roasted little beauties out of the oven and sample one or two – they should be crunchy and no long soft in the center. If they’re still soft in the center, just pop them back in the oven for another ten minutes. While they’re still a bit warm, pour them into your bowl of cinnamon sugar goodness and mix it all up until each chickpea is well coated. Now you’re all done and free to snack away!

 

SWEET AND SALTY ROASTED CHICKPEAS // hourglass&bloom

SWEET AND SALTY ROASTED CHICKPEAS // hourglass&bloom

 

 

 

 

 

10 comments


Leave a Reply

