February 10th, 2013

I stood in the kitchen chopping olives and folding little blankets of ham and salami into miniature sandwiches. Our wicker picnic basket sat gaping at my feet, slowly being laden with wine, plump strawberries, heart shaped candies, and of course the muffuletta sammies. Outside the kitchen window, the world was bedding down in a rosy glow as the sun began its descent. I had been planning this little date night as a sort of pre-valentines-day adventure and a way to try out my new-found mini muffuletta recipe for Fat Tuesday. The February weather was being exceptionally kind to us and the cold gloom from earlier in the day had long since faded.

Mike and I made it down the street to the beach with an hour to spare before sunset. The sand was practically deserted; the stretch of shoreline was ours. We popped open our favorite bottle from Weins (well worth the run-in with the police that it caused!) and tucked in to our little snacks.

 

Hourglass & Bloom

Hourglass & Bloom

Hourglass & Bloom

Hourglass & Bloom

Hourglass & Bloom

Hourglass & Bloom

Hourglass & Bloom

Hourglass & Bloom

 

 

Muffulettas are a traditional New Orleans sandwich, and I figured they’d be the perfect way to celebrate the upcoming Mardi Gras. The rich salami, silky provolone, and smoky ham are offset by the tang of olive salad, held together by a sturdy bun. So, so good. For a deliciously simple recipe, click here!

 

 

MINI MUFFULETTA SANDWICHES

MINI MUFFULETTA SANDWICHES

MINI MUFFULETTA SANDWICHES

MINI MUFFULETTA SANDWICHES

MINI MUFFULETTA SANDWICHES

 

Hourglass & Bloom

 

The sun crept slowly toward its melting point on the horizon, the serenity and beauty of the moment so much more than any words I could write here. Shadowy sailboats eclipsed the crimson sunset, drifting towards the harbor. The sand rippled beneath gentle gusts of sea air. And as Adele crooned Make You Feel My Love from the radio at our side, my best friend and guardian of my heart asked me to spend the rest of my life with him.

I am absolutely beyond a shadow of a doubt the luckiest woman in the world.

 

 

Hourglass & Bloom

Hourglass & Bloom

Hourglass & Bloom

Hourglass & Bloom

Hourglass & Bloom

Hourglass & Bloom

Hourglass & Bloom

 

Hourglass & Bloom

 

41 comments

  1. Not sure how I got started reading your blog, but I always love it and was so happy for you when I read this! Congrats to both of you guys!!!

  2. This is INCREDIBLE! What an amazing man you have… I’d be over the moon, as I’m sure you am. This is one of the loveliest proposal stories I’ve ever heard. Congrats to you both xoxoxo

    Maria

  3. This is beautiful, congratulations, you’re going to look back at this blog in years to come & you’ll be so glad you blogged it as you’ll now remember every detail.

    Veronica x

    theunistudent.wordpress.com

    • I am SO glad I blogged about it. Part of me wanted to keep such a deeply personal moment to ourselves, but then again I want to shout it out on a street corner to complete strangers I’m so excited! I’m thrilled I took so many pictures throughout the evening, thinking I was going to blog about a cute picnic and a new sandwhich recipe, haha!
      Thank you for your support, and thank you for reading ❤

      xo

  4. Congratulations!!!! When I read your three things post, I knew you were foreshadowing the proposal! Wishing you all the best!!! (I follow your blog on bloglovin but don’t think I have commented before! I really enjoy your blog and the way you write!)

  5. So many congratulations!! What a beautiful setting and topped off with a proposal! So wonderful. I hope you enjoy every minute 🙂

    I haven’t had a chance to read your blog yet but now going back to read through your archives. Lots of love from your newest follower. Laura x

  6. Massive congratulations!!! What a beautiful way to brighten up our Wednesday. Xxx hope you are basking in a beautiful new engagement glow and revelling in the attention it brings!!! I’ll be glued to your updates on all this xxxxx

  7. It’s Valentines Day- Just reading this now. I loved your story, and reading it has been a great start to my morning. What am I doing on this lovely day? Going to try on Bridesmaid dresses….depressing!!!

    • Thank you!!!
      Well, bridesmaids dress shopping is only depressing if the bridezilla is stuffing you into some heinous frilly tulle smock with a giant bow on the ass. Or something.
      And do you know what’s NOT depressing??? YOU FRIGGIN WENT AND PLAYED WITH FALCONS AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH I’M DYING OF JEALOUSY!!!!!
      Happy Valentine’s Day! ❤

  8. Hi Nicole,
    Firstly, the biggest of congratulations!! What a stunning place, this just looks like a completely magical proposal. And the way you used to describe your now-fiance is one of the loveliest descriptions of someone I’ve ever read.
    Secondly, I recently discovered your blog after you very kindly commented on mine – I’m honoured that you’d have a look at mine as yours is so fantastic – I thoroughly enjoy reading it.
    XXX

  9. These pictures are so cute! The whole time I was thinking this would just another fab blog post, and then I saw your ring!!! Oh my goodness, CONGRATULATIONS!!! You must be so happy and excited! All the best, and can’t wait to read more about the engagement. xoxo

  10. CONGRATULATIONS!
    So so so so so happy for you!
    I got engaged on 3 Jan and it’s the best thing that has happened, ever! I get so excited when anyone else announces their engagement and really love to hear a proposal story!
    Have you thought about wedding stuff yet? Such exciting times!!! Best wishes to both of you! xoxoxo

  11. Saw your Instagram!! So happy for you this is so cute and romantic and I’m just obsessed. You have to blog about your whole wedding, you will make the most gorgeous bride ever XX Kelly

  12. OMG!!!! congratulations… I´m so happy for you guys, I love that view, the ocean, the sand, everything, all the little details, enjoy dear! I saw you on LC forum so I came to see your blog, let me tell you that you´ve done a great job with it, please come visit and if you like it it would be great if we could follow each other there on LC, or socials, what do you think? To support each other… let me know ok!
    Kisses
    http://www.petitgraphie.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

