The Oil Cleansing Method

Dewy and glowing skin, free of imperfections, blackheads, pimples, and grime: every woman’s ever-elusive goal. Our quest is expensive, frustrating, and often riddled with failure.

Don’t worry, it’s all over now. Take a deep breath and relax. Today…we’re cleansing with oil.

Oil?!” you say, baffled. “Well that’s sort of counter-intuitive!

I get where you’re coming from, I do. Earlier this week I had the same reaction. But after much persuasion from a friend of mine, I gave it a try.

 

OIL CLEANSING METHOD , Hourglass And Bloom

 

Hear me out: our skin already oozes a bit of oil for protection and lubrication, but the oil that we produce gets clogged and dirty throughout the day. So we trudge home, feeling a bit icky and slick, and strip down our face with chemicals and fragrances and crap. Our poor skin is left feeling dry, desperately trying to repair its self. It’ll go into overdrive trying to replace the oils that are lost, and this often creates even more clogged pores and stress. But oil isn’t the culprit here. It’s not some mean monster to be reckoned with; our body produces it naturally, and it’s the key to beautiful, glowing skin.

 

So, on to the basics…you want to replace the dirty oil on your face with clean, good quality oil.

 

For oily skin use: 30% Castor Oil to 70% Sunflower or Grapeseed Oil

For balanced skin use: 20% Castor Oil to 80% Sunflower or Grapeseed Oil

For dry skin use: 10% Castor Oil to 90% Sunflower or Grapeseed Oil

 

OIL CLEANSING METHOD , Hourglass And Bloom

OIL CLEANSING METHOD , Hourglass And Bloom

 

Castor oil has potent anti-inflammatory and extractive properties, and is healing and cleansing. Sunflower and Grapeseed oils are thinner, but no less nurturing; they provide essential fatty acids which are necessary for cell membrane health, among other things.

So, get your personal oil cocktail ready. You don’t need to take off your makeup (that’s another incredible bonus – the oils will remove makeup too, even the most stubborn waterproof mascara!).

Begin massaging a good amount of oil into your skin in circular motions using your fingers. Keep going for a minute or two.

 

OIL CLEANSING METHOD , Hourglass And Bloom

 

Next, douse a washcloth in piping hot water, as hot as you can take it. Wring it out (carefully), and lay it over your face. The steam will open the pores and aid in releasing any impurities. Leave the cloth over your face until it’s no longer hot.

 

OIL CLEANSING METHOD , Hourglass And Bloom

 

Gently wipe the excess oil from your face with the damp cloth. Don’t rub too hard – remember that you’ve replaced the bad oils with these good ones and you want them to continue to nourish the skin.

 

OIL CLEANSING METHOD , Hourglass And Bloom

OIL CLEANSING METHOD , Hourglass And Bloom

 

You can repeat the steam once more, if you feel so inclined. I like to…just because it’s relaxing and I can pretend I’m at some fancy spa. After you’re all finished, you’ll be amazed at how vibrant your skin already looks, and ohhhh man does it feel like butter! If you don’t feel quite comfortable replacing your usual skincare routine with the oil cleansing method, just start by using it a few times a week as a bit of pampering!

For more information on the Oil Cleansing Method, visit this sliiiiiightly new-agey but very informative site.

Happy cleansing!

xo

 

THE OIL CLEANSING METHOD

23 comments

    • The best things I’ve heard are from people who have oily/acne-prone skin who use it. My friend who recommended it was pregnant (hormones) and already acne-prone as it is and she looooves it. Honestly, I’d absolutely give it a go – just use slightly more of the Castor Oil (30% Castor to 70% Sunflower/Grapeseed).
      Let me know how you like it!

  1. I’ve been wanting to try this for a while! The prospect of not spending a fortune on products chock-full of chemicals is really appealing! How long have you been doing it? I wanted to make sure that everyone who tries it continues to have great results – not just only at the beginning.

    • Hey chica!
      I’ve been using it for about a week and loooove it. My friend who recommended it has been using it for well over a month now and she adores it more and more. She’s also just had a baby (hormones) and already acne-prone with combination skin, and she has seen great results.
      If you’re still questioning, just do a bit of research.
      Let me know what you think when you give it a go!

      xo

  2. I’ve been using oil to cleanse my skin for a few years now and I know it’s the only solution when my face looks like its going to break out! Right now I’m using strait grapeseed oil but I switch the oil type up all the time. More people need to know this method!!

  3. I was a bit doubtful…as I love my products…but tried this method last night! Loved it and today, took a steamy shower and gently rubbed it over my entire body! Feels amazing and my skin is quite happy! Thanks!!! 🙂

  4. I’ve been using straight coconut oil for about two weeks; I had heard about the oil method and my skin was so bad I decided I didn’t have anything to lose so I went for it.. AMAZING!! My skin is glowing and feels so soft and fabulous. I’m going to try adding the castor oil in now too! 🙂

  5. I’ve been doing this for a month or so now and I love it! Best part… No more period/hormone pimples each month!

    The only draw back I find, is that sometimes I get a little oil into the roots of my hair around my face, making my hair seem oily. But just a slight adjustment in my morning/evening routine (now I wash my face before I shampoo, whereas before I shampooed and then washed my face), and that’s all fixed.

    I use a combination of mostly grapeseed oil, a little jojoba oil, castor oil, and a splash of tea tree oil. At first, I think I went a little too heavy with the castor oil, because my skin was actually a little dry! But then I balanced it out with a little more grapeseed and jojoba oil and that seems to be working.


Leave a Reply

