Inca Gold : A Healthy Brunch

So, hear me out. I don’t make resolutions. The only thing I’m plotting when the clock strikes twelve at the beginning of the New Year is how I’m going to manage my hangover the next day.

That being said, my jeans are unspeakably tight. The holidays took a toll. I’m desperately clinging onto the last shreds of hope that my twenty-five-year-old metabolism can carry me through to bikini season. Ha! That’s a laugh.

Enter: cleverly disguised……health food.

I’ve blabbed on about quinoa before. But really guys, the Incas were right. It’s freakin’ gold. I can’t get enough of it. I’d even step foot in a Whole Foods for it! (Don’t worry I didn’t….I buy it in bulk at Costco. And I don’t own any LuluLemon so I don’t think they’d let me into a Whole Foods anyway). But that’s neither here nor there. What I’m trying to say is that this little brunch recipe here is going to blow your mind. It’s packed full of vitamins and amino goodness and it’s a complete protein and when you schmear it in runny egg yolk and wash it down with a bloody mary you’re going to be weeping tears of joy and your muscles and your belly and your digestive system will be belting out hallelujah at the top of their non-existent lungs. Alas! Delicious and healthy goodness! You’re welcome.

So…..without further ado, I present the Quinoa Cake:

QUINOA CAKES // Healthy Brunch

You’ll need:

3 cups cooked quinoa

3 large eggs, beaten

1/3 cup fresh chives, chopped

2 large shallots, finely diced

Half cup grated parmesan cheese

3 or 4 garlic cloves, minced

3/4 cup Panko bread cumbs (or bread crumb of choice)

Olive oil, for frying

Poached eggs

QUINOA CAKES // Healthy Brunch

QUINOA CAKES // Healthy Brunch

Cook the quinoa, and set it aside until it’s room temperature. In the meantime, get to chopping. Dice up the garlic and shallots, and chop the chives. Measure out your freshly grated parmesan and Panko bread crumbs.

Once your quinoa has cooled, thoroughly mix in the chives, shallots, and garlic as well as a pinch of salt and pepper. Next, add your three whisked eggs and mix well. Lastly, stir in the breadcrumbs and grated cheese. Heat a very shallow amount of olive oil (about 4 tbsp.) over medium heat in a non-stick skillet.

When you’re forming your patties, make sure that you squeeeeeze and press to ensure they’re well bound and won’t fall apart in the skillet. I started forming mine in a ball shape, then worked them into more flattened patties about 3 or 4 inches in diameter. Carefully place them in the skillet and cook until each side is golden brown (approximately 3-5 minutes per side, depending on thickness).

Now, serve with a deeeeeelicious little poached egg and a garnish of greens for good measure and dig in!

QUINOA CAKES // Healthy Brunch

QUINOA CAKES // Healthy Brunch

12 comments

  1. Hahahaha ” (Don’t worry I didn’t….I buy it in bulk at Costco. And I don’t own any LuluLemon so I don’t think they’d let me into a Whole Foods anyway).” This is gold 🙂 lovely blog

  2. Pingback: BACON : A Cookie’s Story « Hourglass And Bloom


Leave a Reply

