Wishful Thinking

Well, Fall still hasn’t quite hit southern California yet. And I’m pissed.

Yes, yes I know I’m lucky to live in a gorgeous climate of never-ending sunshine over a vast forest of palm trees and cerulean surf. I know. But I’m desperate to pull on a pair of boots and a knitted scarf and tromp around in crisp chilly air. I want to wake up in the morning under the covers  – not sprawled out on top of them while the meager the air flow from my pathetic little oscillating fan washes over me. I want RAIN! The soft pitter-patter of rain on the windows while a hot toddie warms your hands and heart. I desperately want to wear tights and my favorite suede ankle boots! Wishful thinking, I suppose.

And yet, when I woke up this morning, I opened the door to let Wyatt out and………….it was cold! Like, it might have even been 65 degrees or so!

Ecstatic, I dug to the very back of a drawer and tugged out my favorite green capelet. Reunited, and it felt so good. Inspired by this tiny hint of autumn from the weather gods – I indulged in a little photo shoot to savor the feeling of it all.

 

 

 

Emerald capelet is thrifted

Leggings from Nordstrom

Booties from Forever21

Camisole from Victoria’s Secret

 

 

To further celebrate, I made a fantastically nutritious and deeply delicious …. Harvest Salad! This is so simple and so good, you won’t think twice about how healthy it is!

 

Harvest Salad

 

2 cups of butternut squash, cubed

3 cups of brussel sprouts, halved

tuscan kale

almonds

goat cheese

yellow onion

garlic

shallot

olive oil

balsamic

salt, pepper

 

 

 

 

Take up your magical brussel-sprout-wand and get cookin’!

Pre-heat your oven to 400 degrees. Prepare your brussel sprouts by rinsing, trimming the little stem off the bottoms, and slicing them in half. Chop up your butternut squash as well, in large cubes (shhhhh I cheated and bought the lazy man’s pre-cut squash).  Finely dice the garlic, shallot, and about a 1/4 of one yellow onion.

 

 

 

 

Line a baking sheet with foil, and spread out your veggies. Toss them with a light drizz le of olive oil, and season with salt, pepper, shallot and  onion. Roast these for about 20-30 minutes, tossing occasionally.

Once you pull your toasty roatsty veggies out from the oven, toss in with your kale and a little drizzle of balsamic and olive oil. Top with crumbles of goat cheese and chopped almonds, and dig in!

 

 

 

 

What are some things that put you in an Autumn mood? I’m starved for all fall-related comforts so indulge me!

xo

8 comments

  1. I second Kelly. Have been in boots and jumpers since the start of sept and thoroughly bored of it now. Unless im tucked up inside waiting for a slow cook dinner! Fancy a swap? You look absolutely stunning in these pics btw…. Gorgeous lady!!!

    • Haha YES please I’ll swap! My passport is in hand!
      I’m an autumn/winter girl at heart, I can’t help it!

  2. Beautiful outfit, you look great! I’ve just read your post on the ‘Election drinking game’ and it made me your newest follower!!! You are hilarious girl!! 😉
    xo Andrea
    Wonderful and Marvelous

  3. Are you going to be très bummed when the weather reverts back to high 70s and low 80s next week? I’m kinda glad because I’ve realized I don’t like any of my fall jackets anymore.


Leave a Reply

